Skip to main content

The 2021-2022 lecture series “Environment/Sustainability, Science, Technology”, organized by the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA), will host a series of scholars working on a range of political ecology issues, from austerity, low-carbon transitions and climate engineering, to urban infrastructure and waste. 

Day/Time: Mondays, 18:00 – 20:00 (EEST)

Date / Lecturer / Title:

  • 09.05.2022 / Dr. Rita Calvário, Maria Zambrano’s Postdoctoral Researcher, Institute of Environmental Science and Technology,
    Autonomous University of Barcelona (ICTA-UAB) / The political ecology of austerity – crisis, social movements, and the environment
  • 16.05.2022 / Prof. Matthias Dörries, University of Strasbourg, President of the European Inter-University Association on Society, Science &
    Technology (ESST) / Climate engineering and the co-optation of the social sciences
  • 23.05.2022 / Prof. Benjamin K. Sovacool, Director of the Sussex Energy Group at the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU), University of Sussex & Editor, Energy Research and Social Science / A critical justice perspective on low-carbon transitions
  • 30.05.2022 / Dr. Elia Apostolopoulou, Senior Research Fellow, University of Cambridge, Ramon y Cajal Fellow, Autonomous University
    of Barcelona & Editor, Dialogues in Human Geography / Tracing the links between infrastructure-led development, urban transformation
    and inequality in China’s Belt and Road Initiative
  • 06.06.2022 / Prof. Marco Armiero, President of the European Society for Environmental History (ESEH) & Director of the Environmental
    Humanities Laboratory, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm / Wasteocene – stories from the global dump

* The ‘2021-2022 Lecture Series: Environment/Sustainability, Science, Technology’ is organized in the context of the NKUA Graduate Courses ‘Environment, Science, Technology’ and ‘Science, Technology, Society: Environment and Sustainability’, of the Graduate Program in ‘Science, Technology, Society—Science and Technology Studies’, 2021-2022). Contact: Aristotle Tympas ([email protected]), Giorgos Velegrakis ([email protected]), Zoi Christina Siamanta ([email protected])